New York Accident Forms
We offer many different types of Accidents forms. Some of the offered are listed by area below. For others, please use our search engine.
New York Statute of Limitations
New York has a “statutes of limitations” that set a certain time line for the right of someone to bring a lawsuit. This state follows a “no-fault” car insurance law, no matter who’s fault it was that caused the incident it must use your insurance coverage. The statutes states that a person has three years to file for an accident caused by another person. New York abides by the theory of “pure comparative fault”, meaning that more than one person can be held responsible for harm that was caused by the accident and that victims are not barred from compensation for recovery if they contribute to an accident. However, the person who is at fault for the accident is liable for all loses and damages. If a car accident resulted in a person incurring $1,001 or more in damages to property, all the drivers must file a Report of Motor Vehicle Accident form with the DMV no more than 10 days after the accident has happened.